Best Practice to create the No of tape slot

The technical support forum for Firestreamer (the virtual tape library).
shermaine

Post by shermaine »

Hi expert,
We use external USB Drive with firestreamer library for Ms DPM 2012 R2 tape backup, the USB drive is 5TB and we create 5 drive and 10 slot to load into Firestreamer. However I also got warning telling "The Number of free tapes in the tape Library Firestreamer Media Changer is less or equals the threshold value of 2. You must add to the library and mark it as free in order to prevent future backup from failing. (ID 3305)

If say I need reserve 2 free slot, then the usage space reduced, I am planning to modify the firestream library, change to 15 slot. (In stead of 10) however I am new to the system, and not sure if that is the best practice and what will be the possible impact to increase the slot, without increase the actual USB drive capacity.

Many thanks in advanced and appreciate your earlier reply

SM
jsf
Cristalink Support

Post by jsf »

Why did you need to reduce the number of slots from 200 to 10? We do not recommend changing the default configuration of 5 tape drives / 200 slots, unless you really need to. For Firestreamer, it's not a problem. But from DPM's and your standpoint, every time you change Firestreamer's configuration, the old library disappears and the new one appears. Does it really worth the trouble?

In terms of the number of tape drives / slots, from Firestreamer's standpoint, there is no "best practice", except as per above.

The DPM warning you referred to tells you that you need to have a certain number of free tapes loaded, so that DPM could use them when needed. It seems that DPM wants 20% of slots to be loaded with free tapes. But in the end it doesn't really matter. You can ignore the warning if you feel, for example, that one free tape is enough. However, DPM may use your free tape and then ask for another. Your backups will then wait until you load a new tape.
Best regards,